"The window does not repond" problem

Subscribe to this thread
Feed for this thread Post Reply
#1
"The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 03 Jul 2012, 05:13 AM
Daniel Piotrowski User avatar
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Reputation: 10
I'm trying to set the text value of a combo box (standard window for choosing path to file in Windows 7) using given string  in my test. I'm using such line:
Call Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("*", "Open", 1).Window("ComboBoxEx32", "", 1).Window("ComboBox", "", 1).Window("Edit", "", 1).setText(licenceFilePath)

When it comes to this line in test, it fails and gives the following message:

The window with the 0x002b04fe handle exists but did not respond during the auto-wait timeout (10000 ms).

Try increasing the 'Auto-wait timeout' project property.

Tested object:
Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("#32770", "Open", 1).Window("ComboBoxEx32", "", 1).Window("ComboBox", "", 1).Window("Edit", "", 1)

It says the window does not respond, but the text is actually set properly in combo box, I check it with Object Spy and it does see this window. I tried using WaitWindow method before setting the text but it seems to have nothing to do with this problem because the window always exists it just "does not respond". Can anyone help me with this? It's pretty annoying as it didn''t seem to be a complicated operation to simply set the combo box text.
Like
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#2
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 03 Jul 2012, 06:12 AM
Helen Kosova User avatar
Staff
Posts: 613
Reputation: 1660
Hi Daniel,

Not exactly an answer to your question, but why don't you use the OpenFile method?
Call Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("*", "Open", 1).OpenFile(licenceFilePath)

Helen Kosova
SmartBear Technical Writer
________________________

Vote up helpful replies.
Accept this reply is you think it's the best solution to your question.

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#3
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 03 Jul 2012, 07:23 AM
Daniel Piotrowski User avatar
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Reputation: 10
Hello Helen, thank your for your reply.

I tried this method, although it still gives me an error message, only this time on the line Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("*", "Open", 1).OpenFile(licenceFilePath) :


The window with the 0x004604e0 handle exists but did not respond during the auto-wait timeout (10000 ms).

Try increasing the 'Auto-wait timeout' project property.

Tested object:
Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("#32770", "Open", 1)

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#4
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 03 Jul 2012, 09:00 AM
Helen Kosova User avatar
Staff
Posts: 613
Reputation: 1660
Hi Daniel,

Since you're using Windows 7, it's most likely a permissions issue. Try running TestComplete as an administrator - does this help?

If it does not, try increasing the Auto-wait timeout value in Tools > Current Project Properties > Playback to, say, 60000 (60 sec).

Let me know your results.

Helen Kosova
SmartBear Technical Writer
________________________

Vote up helpful replies.
Accept this reply is you think it's the best solution to your question.

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#5
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 03 Jul 2012, 09:34 AM
Daniel Piotrowski User avatar
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Reputation: 10
Helen, in both machines where I run these tests (virtual with TE and physical with TC) I have the user account control turned off. About the timeouts I will have to check it tomrrow as I don't have the access to TestComplete to change it right now - when I run the tests although the error message is right after the previous operation (this is not even a second after).

The strange thing is that I use the WaitWindow method every time before using this combo box or the method you provided and every time it finds the object (it's also visible in Object Spy).

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#6
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 06 Jul 2012, 02:35 AM
Daniel Piotrowski User avatar
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Reputation: 10
Do you have any other ideas, please? Unfortunately it didn't help so far.

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#7
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 06 Jul 2012, 05:17 AM
Helen Kosova User avatar
Staff
Posts: 613
Reputation: 1660
Hi Daniel,

With regard to UAC: Disabled UAC is not the same as running as admin. For example, if you're working under a standard user account rather than an administrator account. In this case the "run as admin" suggestion is still valid.

If neither helps, would you mind collecting some troubleshooting info to help us track down the problem? Please do the following:

* Start TestComplete and open your test project.

* Run two instances of the ReportGenerator utility:
C:\Program Files\SmartBear\TestComplete 9\Bin\ReportGenerator.exe
(Correct the path appropriately.)

* In one instance, click the Launch/attach to TestComplete link.

* In the other instance, click the Track application launch link and specify your application name (AdaptiveVisionStudio) in the next dialog.

Once you perform the steps, the utility will trace the work of TestComplete and the application under test. After the problem happens and you see the error in the test log, click the Generate button in each utility window and create report archives.

Please send the two archives to Support as a reply to your support ticket M0101316.

Helen Kosova
SmartBear Technical Writer
________________________

Vote up helpful replies.
Accept this reply is you think it's the best solution to your question.

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#8
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 06 Jul 2012, 05:44 AM
Daniel Piotrowski User avatar
Member
Member
Posts: 24
Reputation: 10
Hello Helen.

Thank you for your reply. I run test from Administrator account in both cases. Anyway, I created the report files and sent them as you suggested.

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#9
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 19 Dec 2012, 06:15 PM
Jim Shobe User avatar
Member
Member
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0
Was there a resolution to this issue?  I'm hitting the exact same problem with a WinForms text box.   Exists is true, CanFocus and CanSelect properties are true but trying to SetText intermittently fails with window does not respond error as mentioned above.  Hard coded delays do not resolve the issue.

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#10
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 20 Dec 2012, 01:20 AM
Vajindar Laddad User avatar
Valued member
Valued member
Posts: 85
Reputation: 450
Hi ,
Did you try "Keys" method to insert text into the TextBox ?

Note:
I have noticed one difference between "SetText" and "Keys", the "Keys" method is much much slower than "SetText".
Thanks & Regards, Vajindar Laddad.

Vote for this reply
Like
+1 / 0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#11
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 20 Dec 2012, 02:10 AM
Vajindar Laddad User avatar
Valued member
Valued member
Posts: 85
Reputation: 450
Also , to add further,
Check the Memory used (from Task Manager) when that particular dialog box appears.
Thanks & Regards, Vajindar Laddad.

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#12
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 30 May 2013, 02:27 PM
Srikanth Pakalapati User avatar
Member
Member
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0

Is there a solution for this issue ?
Because i am facing same issue now, when I am trying to select an item in TreeView or ListView objects of my application

Tried increasing Auto-wait timeout in Current project and Default Project Properties, but still getting same error

P.S: Able to identify the object, record the steps and get the items count in the list.

Recorded Steps:

Set pageClientPane =Aliases.tc_client.wndAfx.pageClientPane

Set sysTreeView32 = pageClientPane.pageStackPane.SysTreeView32

Call sysTreeView32.ClickItem("|Amendments (4)")

 

Error:

The window does not respond.

The window with the 0x000203ac handle exists but did not respond during the auto-wait timeout (10000 ms).

Try increasing the 'Auto-wait timeout' project property


Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
#13
RE: "The window does not repond" problem
Posted on 19 Mar 2014, 05:25 PM
Aakash Mathur User avatar
Member
Member
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0
Had the same issue, and changing "SetText" to "Key", did the trick for me.
Thanks!

Vote for this reply
Like
0
Dislike
This reply answers my question
Post Reply